Traveling Around The Home – California

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”

– Gustave Flaubert

 

When I chose my University, I chose the school based on the location, by the ocean side. With the hope that I will enjoy my stay during my college career.

As a typical Asian, growing up in a traditional Japanese household, I was pursuing my career path as a doctor.  During my social justice and self-discovery journey, one day some presenter asked a question of “please list the places you have visited in the past three years”. All I could answer was fast food places that I go for midnight craving, grocery stores that I buy my cup noodles at, Southern California since my family lives there, and the school library like it is my second home.  From this survey, science major students were known to only know the library.  Some students never even visited Monterey Aquarium even though its only 15 minutes away and we get free tickets as a student.  What makes this fact so sad is that the aquarium is known to be one of the “must visit place” in the bay area.   From then on, I realized the importance of getting to know your community for its own purpose, but also for myself to gain more knowledge and to become more aware.  I believe that when one lifts up their head from looking only at textbooks, people become more engaged and fulfilling to the needs of the society and are open minded to opposing/new ideas, which creates a possible better society.  This idea may be on a micro scale, but it is a start.

From this passion of mine, I started to emphasize my travel not for how far I traveled, but for my growth of my social justice/self-discovering journey.  To strengthen my mental health, to support nature and lives of all living things, and to build self-confidence in this world that takes our individuality.

 

“Travel is not really about leaving our homes, but leaving our habits.”
– Pico Iyer

“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.”

– Saint Augustine

 

snapchat-3225641917305571440

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Traveling Around The Home – California

Leave a Reply

